Every client program connected to a DataHub instance is associated with exactly one user at any given time. Each user is authorized to access certain features of the DataHub instance according to its user permissions. When a client first connects, it is immediately associated with the anonymous user, and gets those permissions. Then it gets switched to the special user for the protocol it is connecting on. If the client subsequently authenticates itself as a normal user, it is then granted that user's permissions. A client's permissions are always the entire permission set for the user that it is currently associated with.
To edit user permissions select the user name in the Users list and press the button. This will open the Permission Editor.
Permissions are categorized into four groups, and defined as follows:
This user can remotely administer the application.
This user can delete an existing point.
![]() | |
Normally, no client should be allowed to delete points from the DataHub instance. Deleting points can be very disruptive for existing clients. Use this permission with caution. |
This user can load a configuration file.
This user can remotely terminate the application.
This user can remotely administer other user configurations.
This user is allowed to maintain a connection to the DataHub instance. When a connection is made, the client has a 5-second grace period in which to authenticate before the client is disconnected. If the client does not have Connection Connect permissions after the grace period expires, it will be disconnected.
This user can change the organizational hierarchy of the data points. This is the information that makes the data appear as a tree structure in the Data Browser.
This user is allowed to create new data domains. Normally you should also set Connection CreatePoint permission when you set this permission for a user.
This user is allowed to create new points in existing data domains in the DataHub instance.
If the user has Connection Write permission, he may also have this permission. In this case, the user will able to send the force and cforce commands to the DataHub instance, which will override the read-only status and timestamp check for a point, thereby forcing a write to succeed where it would otherwise fail.
This user is allowed to read historical values.
This user is allowed to read point values and subscribe to point value changes.
This user is allowed to write a new value to a DataHub point.
This user is allowed to make an authenticated HTTP connection.
![]() | |
Beginning with DataHub version 9.0, these six restriction permissions are not available. They are documented here only for backward compatibility.
|
This user can create a new control (not implemented).
This user can create a new page for a mobile client.
This user can create a new page.
This user can delete a control that he has created (not implemented).
This user can delete a control that another user has created (not implemented).
This user can delete a page that another user has created (not implemented).
This user can delete a page that he has created (not implemented).
This user can edit a control that another user has created (not implemented).
This user can edit a page that another user has created.
This user can edit a page that he has created.
This user can save a control that he has created (not implemented).
This user can save a control that another user has created (not implemented).
This user can save a page that another user has created.
This user can save a page that he has created.
This user can view a page that another user has created.
This user can view a page that he has created.
This user is allowed to browse the Internet from within DataHub WebView.
This user is allowed to change WebView options.
This user is allowed to change the WebView theme. This function is not currently available.
This user is allowed to configure trace settings in the WebView application.
This user is allowed to make a live data connection from a WebView client.
This user is allowed to use the troubleshooting abilities of the WebView application.
This user is allowed to view the WebView online help.